Property Taxes By State > Kansas > Mitchell County Property Tax

Mitchell County Kansas Property Tax

$1,099.00 43rd of 105

Median Property Tax In Mitchell County, Kansas


Median Home Value In
Mitchell County, Kansas

1.60% 18th of 105

Median Property Tax
As Percentage Of Home Value


Median Income In
Mitchell County, Kansas

The median property tax (also known as real estate tax) in Mitchell County is $1,099.00 per year, based on a median home value of $68,500.00 and a median effective property tax rate of 1.60% of property value.

Mitchell County collects relatively high property taxes, and is ranked in the top half of all counties in the United States by property tax collections. Of the one-hundred--five counties in Kansas, Mitchell County is ranked 43rd by median property taxes, and 18th by median tax as percentage of home value.

Property Tax Tip Note: Due to the complicated and varied methods used to calculate property tax in different counties, the best way to compare property taxes between jurisdictions is through median property tax values. If you need to calculate the exact tax due on your property, contact the Mitchell County Tax Assessor.

Mitchell County's Property Tax Is Higher Than Average

43rd out of 105

By median yearly property tax

18th out of 105

By percentage of median home value

52nd out of 105

By percentage of median income

You can see how Mitchell County (highlighted in green) compares to the one-hundred--five other counties in Kansas with the bar chart above, sorted by median property tax in dollars. For a visual map of county property tax rates in Kansas, see our Kansas county property tax map.

Property Tax Tip Remember: Real estate prices also play a large part in which Kansas counties have the highest and lowest median property taxes. Higher-valued properties will generally have higher taxes, even if the median percentage of home value levied as property tax is different. For comparisons, you can also use Percentage Of Home Value.

Mitchell County is located in Kansas, which is ranked 26th highest of the 50 states by median property tax. Here's how Mitchell County's property tax compares to the 3,142 other counties nationwide:

1333rd out of 3143

By median yearly property tax

353rd out of 3143

By percentage of median home value

1259th out of 3143

By percentage of median income

To see how Kansas as a whole compares to the rest of the states, check our our interactive state-by-state property tax map. You can find statewide statistics on the Kansas property tax page.

We have real estate tax tax information for a total of one-hundred--five Kansas counties in addition to Mitchell County. Choose any county from the list below, or see Kansas property tax by county to see property tax information for all Kansas counties on one page. To compare county tax rates with an interactive color-coded map, see our Kansas property tax map.

Counties in Kansas
Johnson County Douglas County Miami County Leavenworth County
Riley County Butler County Jefferson County Shawnee County
Wyandotte County Ellis County McPherson County Franklin County
Geary County Scott County Gray County Sedgwick County
Saline County Ford County Harvey County Reno County
Lyon County Wabaunsee County Pottawatomie County Wichita County
Jackson County Finney County Osage County Sumner County
Ottawa County Atchison County Anderson County Marion County
Thomas County Pratt County Dickinson County Seward County
Cowley County Sherman County Clay County Chase County
Sheridan County Greeley County Mitchell County Barton County
Haskell County Labette County Morris County Coffey County
Linn County Lincoln County Kingman County Wallace County
Trego County Clark County Cloud County Pawnee County
Nemaha County Russell County Logan County Neosho County
Marshall County Stanton County Smith County Ellsworth County
Montgomery County Harper County Meade County Graham County
Morton County Rice County Hodgeman County Bourbon County
Kiowa County Hamilton County Crawford County Decatur County
Kearny County Doniphan County Brown County Stevens County
Grant County Rooks County Gove County Rawlins County
Woodson County Phillips County Republic County Chautauqua County
Allen County Cherokee County Elk County Stafford County
Washington County Rush County Edwards County Greenwood County
Wilson County Lane County Ness County Norton County
Barber County Cheyenne County Jewell County Comanche County
Osborne County  
Property Address *
City *
State *
Zip *

Our property tax lookup tool can help you find public record details about your property, including your most recent property assessment.

Mitchell County Property Tax Assessor

Property tax assessments in Mitchell County are the responsibility of the Mitchell County Tax Assessor, whose office is located in Beloit, Kansas.

If you need to pay your property tax bill, ask about a property tax assessment, look up the Mitchell County property tax due date, or find property tax records, visit the Mitchell County Tax Assessor's page. Applications for the Mitchell County homestead exemption, any property tax appeals, and applications for a current use tax reduction must also be submitted to the Mitchell County Assessor's Office.

For some properties, you can easily find the most recent tax assessment by looking up the property address with our property records search. You can also use our Mitchell County Property Tax Calculator to estimate your property tax based on median tax values (results open in new page).

Most Recent Property Valuation:


Link to this page:
Data Sources: Our property tax data is based on a 5-year study of median property tax rates conducted from 2006 through 2010.

United States Census Property Tax Data
U.S. Census Bureau
American Community Survey, 2006-2010
The Tax Foundation Property Tax Data
The Tax Foundation
Property Tax Calculations, July 2012
kansas Property Tax Data
Kansas Department of Revenue
Tax Statistics & References