Property Taxes By State > Property Taxes By State > New Mexico Property Tax by County

New Mexico Property Taxes by County

New Mexico Property Tax By County New Mexico : Median property tax is $880.00

This interactive table ranks New Mexico's counties by median property tax in dollars, percentage of home value, and percentage of median income. The list is sorted by median property tax in dollars by default. You can sort by any column available by clicking the arrows in the header row.

For a visual display of how property taxes compare in New Mexico's 33 counties, visit our interactive New Mexico county map. You can download or print a hard copy of this table as a PDF - please remember to credit

County Name Median Property Tax Median Home Value % Home Value Median Income % Income
Bernalillo County$1,530.00$188,800.000.81%$62,195.002.46%
Catron County$294.00$129,400.000.23%$33,125.000.89%
Chaves County$505.00$86,200.000.59%$46,005.001.10%
Cibola County$444.00$74,800.000.59%$43,936.001.01%
Colfax County$458.00$103,100.000.44%$47,964.000.95%
Curry County$551.00$98,500.000.56%$48,582.001.13%
De Baca County$396.00$71,100.000.56%$35,125.001.13%
Dona Ana County$788.00$137,200.000.57%$47,834.001.65%
Eddy County$419.00$90,700.000.46%$54,307.000.77%
Grant County$467.00$125,000.000.37%$41,745.001.12%
Guadalupe County$460.00$74,500.000.62%$31,250.001.47%
Harding County$255.00$70,300.000.36%$37,656.000.68%
Hidalgo County$393.00$90,800.000.43%$45,938.000.86%
Lea County$384.00$87,500.000.44%$50,254.000.76%
Lincoln County$692.00$166,600.000.42%$49,315.001.40%
Los Alamos County$1,446.00$297,100.000.49%$116,038.001.25%
Luna County$458.00$91,700.000.50%$32,961.001.39%
McKinley County$870.00$69,300.001.26%$35,082.002.48%
Mora County$493.00$107,500.000.46%$38,966.001.27%
Otero County$601.00$104,500.000.58%$45,159.001.33%
Quay County$325.00$65,200.000.50%$32,650.001.00%
Rio Arriba County$508.00$136,300.000.37%$43,738.001.16%
Roosevelt County$398.00$94,800.000.42%$46,361.000.86%
San Juan County$628.00$149,400.000.42%$52,342.001.20%
San Miguel County$570.00$112,200.000.51%$42,542.001.34%
Sandoval County$1,256.00$184,400.000.68%$62,929.002.00%
Santa Fe County$1,148.00$291,700.000.39%$63,363.001.81%
Sierra County$501.00$92,800.000.54%$28,672.001.75%
Socorro County$538.00$108,400.000.50%$40,344.001.33%
Taos County$652.00$212,400.000.31%$40,184.001.62%
Torrance County$523.00$92,300.000.57%$39,402.001.33%
Union County$429.00$91,900.000.47%$40,490.001.06%
Valencia County$756.00$129,900.000.58%$48,692.001.55%

Need more info? For a nationwide comparison of each state's highest and lowest taxed counties, see median property tax by state. To find detailed property tax statistics for any county in New Mexico, click the county's name in the data table above.

Sources: This data is based on a 5-year study of median property tax rates on owner-occupied homes in New Mexico conducted from 2006 through 2010. Data sourced from the U.S. Census Bureau, The Tax Foundation, and various state and local sources.