Property Taxes By State > Texas > Texas Property Tax

Texas Property & Real Estate Taxes


Median Property Tax In Texas


Median Property Tax
As Percentage Of Home Value


Median Property Tax
As Percentage Of Income
Related Resources:


Median Home Value In Texas


Median Income In Texas

The median property tax in Texas is $2,275.00 per year, based on a median home value of $125,800.00 and a median effective property tax rate of 1.81%. You can look up your recent appraisal by filling out the form below.

Property Address *
City *
State *
Zip *

Texas' Median Property Tax Is Higher Than Average

14th out of 50

By median yearly property tax

3rd out of 50

By percentage of median home value

12th out of 50

By percentage of median income

Texas collects relatively high property taxes, and is ranked in the top half of all states by property tax collections. Keep in mind that higher real estate taxes may be offset by lower state sales or income taxes. Higher property taxes in dollars may also be the result of higher property values than other states.

Texas Property Taxes By County

While this page shows statewide Texas property tax statistics, more precise property tax statistics can be found at county level. Texas has a total of two hundred fifty four counties, and each county has a unique process for assessing and calculating property tax.

If you would like to estimate the property tax on a home like yours in Texas, enter your most recent property valuation in the property tax estimator below. Results are based on median taxes in all counties, and will open in a new page.

Most Recent Property Valuation:

All of the counties in Texas are listed in the table below, sorted by median property tax from highest to lowest, left to right. Choose your county from the list below for more information about your local property tax. To compare property taxes in different counties, try out our interactive property tax map of Texas.

Counties in Texas
King County Collin County Fort Bend County Rockwall County
Travis County Denton County Williamson County Kendall County
Hays County Tarrant County Montgomery County Harris County
Brazoria County Galveston County Dallas County Comal County
Brazos County Kaufman County Ellis County Bexar County
Parker County Guadalupe County Bastrop County Webb County
Randall County Gillespie County Bell County El Paso County
Chambers County Washington County Wilson County Nueces County
Waller County Blanco County Burnet County Cooke County
Austin County Hood County Hartley County Johnson County
Midland County Lubbock County Wise County Victoria County
Kerr County Bandera County Caldwell County Aransas County
Lampasas County Erath County McLennan County Smith County
San Patricio County Fayette County Coryell County Grayson County
Archer County Llano County Gregg County Walker County
Oldham County Wichita County Lee County Medina County
Hunt County Potter County Jefferson County Hidalgo County
Roberts County Somervell County Wharton County Taylor County
Hamilton County Loving County Hopkins County Cameron County
Lynn County Deaf Smith County Val Verde County Liberty County
Hill County Kleberg County Tom Green County Camp County
Clay County Bowie County Parmer County Navarro County
Van Zandt County Hardin County Fannin County Hale County
Hemphill County Ochiltree County Jackson County Colorado County
Franklin County Moore County Titus County Lamar County
Atascosa County Upshur County Orange County Castro County
Bosque County Armstrong County Rains County Angelina County
Wood County Brewster County Matagorda County Brown County
Runnels County Harrison County Freestone County Ector County
Henderson County Comanche County Burleson County Montague County
Real County Calhoun County Delta County Milam County
Kimble County Hansford County Sherman County Concho County
Maverick County Anderson County Gonzales County Hockley County
Bailey County Carson County Crosby County Jeff Davis County
Gray County Mason County Lipscomb County Grimes County
Martin County Lavaca County Palo Pinto County Mills County
Scurry County Gaines County Collingsworth County Swisher County
Nacogdoches County Mitchell County Uvalde County Morris County
Terry County Bee County Cherokee County Wilbarger County
San Jacinto County Culberson County Irion County Jack County
Childress County Rusk County DeWitt County Jim Wells County
Donley County Limestone County Floyd County Panola County
Karnes County Madison County Stonewall County Callahan County
San Saba County Falls County Cass County Hutchinson County
Robertson County Young County Frio County Menard County
Coke County Andrews County Shackelford County Kenedy County
Presidio County Polk County Dawson County Houston County
Jim Hogg County Dallam County Hall County Jones County
Schleicher County Stephens County Willacy County McCulloch County
Wheeler County Fisher County Nolan County Trinity County
Goliad County Howard County Garza County Red River County
Knox County Sutton County Hardeman County Throckmorton County
Yoakum County Leon County Reagan County Tyler County
Jasper County Crane County Baylor County Motley County
Eastland County Lamb County Refugio County Coleman County
Foard County McMullen County San Augustine County Briscoe County
Live Oak County Marion County Cochran County Dimmit County
Borden County Shelby County Haskell County Newton County
Sterling County Edwards County Hudspeth County Glasscock County
Starr County Reeves County La Salle County Brooks County
Winkler County Cottle County Duval County Sabine County
Pecos County Dickens County Kinney County Crockett County
Kent County Zavala County Zapata County Upton County
Ward County Terrell County  


Link to this page:
Data Sources: Our property tax data is based on a 5-year study of median property tax rates conducted from 2006 through 2010.

United States Census Property Tax Data
U.S. Census Bureau
American Community Survey, 2006-2010
The Tax Foundation Property Tax Data
The Tax Foundation
Property Tax Calculations, July 2012
texas Property Tax Data
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Tax Statistics & References